Internal combustion engine without piston, less polluting waste.

Internal combustion engine without piston

with multiple ignitions and staggered in space and in time

----- less pollutant emissions -----

This page is optimized for a screen of about 17 inches. Thus explanations are near each drawing.

The device comprises a compressor (1) which compresses air (2) taken into the environment to introduce it into the precombustion chamber (3). A valve (4), separates the precombustion chamber (3) from the combustion chamber (6). This valve (4), when open, permit for maximum passage of fluids contained in (3) thanks to a maximum aperture.
When the valve (4), is closed, the air pressure increases in the prechamber (3). When the valve (4), opens under the action of the actuator (5), the air is quickly introduced into the combustion chamber (6), mixes with fuel supplied via a conduit (8) to an injector (7), located in the combustion chamber (6), open and injecting fuel at the right time, and the air / fuel mixture gradually fills the combustion chamber. Then the valve (4) is controlled to close.
As shown, the actuator (5) is electrical but the valve can also be actuated by a mechanical drive (31) linked to the rotation of the turbine (11).
The air / fuel mixture does not escape immediately from the other end of (6) because there is a little pressure in the combustion of the previous cycle, and to this end the gas outlet is constricted and the cycle is very fast.
An electronic computer, controls the operation of the set and therefore the ignition in the combustion chamber when the air / fuel mixture fills at best.
The mixture is then compressed relatively, but then, it is known that the performance of this combustion is higher when the pressure is high.

To increase the pressure of the mixture, ignition occurs several times
in a very short time managed by the computer. Several solutions can be used. For example, in a first step, the spark plugs (9 A) at the gas outlet side, turn the air / fuel mixture begins to burn with heat and increasing the volume of all fluids present which has the effect, firstly, to start making out some of the exhaust gases from the combustion chamber (10) and, secondly, to compress the rest of the air / fuel mixture in the combustion chamber and not yet ignited.
Other spark plugs ignite then this part of the mixture which is strongly compressed at a time managed by the computer in one or several successive ignitions for the same cycle and the same volume of mixture. Ignition for combustion of the same fuel / air mixture volume can be done once, twice, three times or more than three times depending on the shape of the combustion chamber and the fuel used.
The air / fuel mixture is in all cases a poor mixture, it is managed in such a way that in no case can be explosive which could damage the device. It is in all cases of which the combustion flame speed is low compared to the speed of propagation of a detonation. This relatively low speed of the combustion propagation permit to manage combustion with several ignitions in the same cycle, for the same volume of air / fuel mixture in the combustion chamber.
The expansion of the burnt gases or during combustion in the combustion chamber made out under pressure (10) and arrive in a turbine (11) through which they pass by transmitting their input energy which results in rotating the turbine (11) which mechanically drives (30) rotating the compressor (1), and at least one further device to which it supplies mechanical energy (29) as an electric generator (12) which transforms mechanical energy received into usable electrical energy to the accessories of the device and / or for use outside of the device.

In the operation of a four-stroke direct-injection engine, it is known that a significant portion of exhaust emissions is due to the oil on the walls of the liners and the projected fuel, particularly on the pistons, because of their poor combustion to the walls regardless of the fineness of the droplets of the injected fuel.

In this device, one of the objects is to minimize the possibility that the fuel is deposited on the walls.
Illustrated in detail, a guide (15) guides the fuel injected by the injector (7) such that a portion of pressurized air (19) drives the fuel but without touching the walls of the combustion chamber while forming the air / fuel mixture. Another portion of the pressurized air (18) passes around the guide (15) so that it also contributes to separate said mixture of the wall (16) of the combustion chamber. More elaborate shapes like those of (49) are more efficient.
Did we need a piston, with all the rubbing and output losses through the valves to compress the air / fuel mixture ?


Some improvements:

In a variant of the device, the prechamber (44) has a larger volume than in other versions due to its greater length and / or by a larger section, of its inner cavity, from the air inlet side from the compressor rather than the side of the air outlet in contact with the valve (4).
This feature makes it possible to compress a large volume of air in the precombustion chamber while the valve (4) is closed and to inject air into the combustion chamber at a pressure which remains high in spite of the sudden increase in the volume to be filled in the combustion chamber when the valve (4) opens.
The compressor (45) has the characteristics suitable for this purpose.

In another variant, the device comprising a duct (26) permitting the flow of fuel in the prechamber (3), to at least one injector (24), open at the proper time managed by said computer, fuel which will form a part of the air / fuel mixture to be burned in the combustion chamber.
A guide (25) guides the fuel injected by the injector (24) such that a portion of the air (2) introduced into the precombustion chamber (3) drives the fuel but without touching, or as little as possible, the wall of the valve (4), open in this phase, or the wall of the combustion chamber (16).



In a variant of the device, at least one of elements such as (32) of the ignition means is a means using a laser beam.
In the combustion chamber (6), without piston, without obstacle, the radius of action of each laser is predetermined for optimum results; and the optional laser (32) disposed substantially in the axis of the combustion chamber has either a short radius to ignite the air / fuel mixture into one of the possibilities of multiple phases of the ignition switch or a long radius to ignite the mixture towards the axis of the combustion chamber, thereby compressing the mixture between the combustion zone which begins and the wall of the combustion chamber or to a combustion that continues or by at least one further additional ignition by laser (9), all of which are here also managed by the computer.
Lasers permit for more targeted ignition in space and time than conventional sparking plugs.

Injection of water or steam into the precombustion chamber (44) through an inlet of the fluid through a conduit (42) which feeds a dispersion means (43) permits a better combustion, lower consumption fuel and a decrease in the amount of pollutants released, a reduction in NOx emissions. Skilfully handled, the condensation of the steam improves the efficiency of the turbine.
The injection of water or steam, may be formed in the combustion chamber.
At least a portion of the water or the water vapor injected into the precombustion chamber and / or in the combustion chamber results from the cooling (17) of the wall (16) of the combustion chamber that directly or indirectly heats the water, which can be converted into steam.


In another embodiment, the device is identical to that of the first version with two differences, on the one hand, the presence of a second valve (20) which opens and closes the fluid passage, those coming out of the combustion chamber, the actuation of which is related to that of the valve (4), represented here mechanically by (21), the synchronization of the two valves can be electric and managed by the computer, on the other hand , the shape of the openings for the passage of fluids (22) and (23). The presence of the second valve (20) makes it possible a first greater compression of the air / fuel mixture in the combustion chamber before it is ignited.
The different elements that make up the device are shown without specifically representing an operating phase.
The openings for fluid passages (22) and (23) are shaped to pass as easily as possible fluids therethrough while having shapes permiting the synchronization of actions in a cycle.
Thus the two valves are closed during the ignition and combustion of the air / fuel mixture and the passage opening (23) of the valve (20) is connected to the passage opening (22) of the valve (4) for the supply of air from the precombustion chamber with or without a time lag.

Some thoughts:
- Standards are increasingly restrictive in automotive pollution.
- These constraints lead to the production of four-stroke engines increasingly complex and expensive to purchase and maintain.
- In this new engine, more fuel can be used, such as gasoline, diesel fuel, alcohols, combustible gases. One can even use two fuels, one after the other or simultaneously to change the result of the combustion.
- Lasers can be used with long rays to ignite the mixture under multiple conditions that can be chosen.
- This engine operates at substantially constant speed, consuming and polluting the least and provides power to an electric vehicle or as a means of occasional emergency and thus range extender or as continuous power supplier.
- Regarding the two examples of electrically powered cars, knowing that an electric car consumes 15-25 kWh per 100 km depending on its weight and aerodynamics, the power of the proposed motors enables acceleration times and suitable even if most of time it is a small percentage of their rated power that is used. then allowing the battery to recharge while running,
- This invention is not limited to the cars applications, it also makes it possible to produce electricity to feed the electrical networks.
The engine presented in the context of this invention is not yet commercialized.

LINK: To get an accurate idea of the interaction between combustion and fuel depot on the walls of combustion engines concerning the level of the pollutant emissions and their causes:
" Étude expérimentale du comportement et de l'évaporation d'un film liquide combustible en présence d'une flamme "
presented by Nicolas BORGETTO (INSA LYON)

Other information: the text of the patent.
        contact

Moteur sans piston, moins polluant.

Moteur à combustion interne sans piston

à allumages multiples et décalés dans l'espace et dans le temps

----- moins de rejets polluants -----

Cette page est optimisée pour un écran de 17 pouces environ. Ainsi les explications sont plus près de chaque dessin.

Le dispositif comporte un compresseur (1) qui comprime de l'air (2) pris dans le milieu ambiant pour l'introduire dans la préchambre (3). Une vanne (4), sépare la préchambre (3) de la chambre de combustion (6). Cette vanne (4), lorsqu'elle est ouverte, permet un passage maximum des fluides contenus dans (3) grâce à une ouverture maximum.
Lorsque la vanne (4), est fermée, la pression de l'air augmente dans la préchambre (3). Lorsque la vanne (4), s'ouvre sous l'action de l'actionneur (5), l'air s'introduit rapidement dans la chambre de combustion (6), se mélange au carburant amené par un conduit (8) vers un injecteur (7), situé dans la chambre de combustion (6), ouvert et injectant du carburant au moment voulu, et le mélange air/carburant rempli progressivement la chambre de combustion. Puis la vanne (4) est commandée pour se fermer.
Tel qu'il est représenté, l'actionneur (5) est électrique mais la vanne peut aussi être actionnée par un entraînement mécanique (31) lié à la rotation de la turbine (11).
Le mélange air/carburant ne s'échappe pas immédiatement par l'autre extrémité de (6) car il reste un peu de pression de la combustion du cycle précédent, et à cette extrémité la sortie des gaz est resserrée et le cycle est très rapide.
Un calculateur électronique, gère le fonctionnement de l'ensemble et donc l'allumage dans la chambre de combustion lorsque le mélange air/carburant la remplit au mieux.
Le mélange est alors relativement comprimé, or, on sait que le rendement de cette combustion est d'autant plus élevé que la pression est élevée.

Pour augmenter la pression du mélange, l'allumage se fait en plusieurs fois
en un temps très bref géré par le calculateur. Plusieurs solutions sont utilisables. Par exemple, dans un premier temps, les bougies (9 A) côté sortie des gaz, allument le mélange air/carburant qui commence à brûler en produisant de la chaleur et en augmentant le volume de tous les fluides présents ce qui a pour effet, d'une part, de commencer à faire sortir une partie des gaz brûlés de la chambre de combustion (10) et, d'autre part, de comprimer le reste du mélange air/carburant contenu dans la chambre de combustion et non encore enflammé.
Les autres bougies enflamment alors cette partie du mélange qui se trouve fortement comprimé à un instant géré par le calculateur en un ou en plusieurs allumages successifs pour un même cycle et un même volume de mélange. L'allumage pour la combustion d'un même volume de mélange air/carburant peut se faire en une fois, en deux fois, en trois fois ou en plus de trois fois selon la forme de la chambre de combustion et le carburant utilisé.
Le mélange air/carburant est dans tous les cas de figure un mélange pauvre, il est géré de telle sorte qu'en aucun cas il puisse être détonant ce qui pourrait endommager le dispositif. Il s'agit dans tous les cas de combustion dont la vitesse de la flamme est faible par rapport à la vitesse de propagation d'une détonation. Cette vitesse relativement peu élevée de propagation de la combustion permet de gérer la combustion avec plusieurs allumages dans un même cycle, pour un même volume de mélange air/carburant dans la chambre de combustion.
L'expansion des gaz brûlés ou en cours de combustion dans la chambre de combustion les fait sortir sous pression en (10) et ils arrivent dans une turbine (11) qu'ils traversent en lui transmettant leur énergie d'entrée ce qui entraîne en rotation la turbine (11) qui entraîne mécaniquement (30) en rotation le compresseur (1), ainsi qu'au moins un autre dispositif auquel elle fournit de l'énergie mécanique par (29) comme un générateur électrique (12) qui transforme l'énergie mécanique reçue en énergie électrique utilisable pour les accessoires du dispositif et/ou pour une utilisation à l'extérieur du dispositif.

Dans le fonctionnement d'un moteur à combustion interne de type à quatre temps à injection directe, on sait qu'une partie importante des rejets polluants est due à l'huile sur les parois de la chemise et au carburant projeté, surtout sur le piston, à cause de leur mauvaise combustion sur les parois quelle que soit la finesse des gouttelettes du carburant injecté.

Dans ce dispositif, un des buts est d'éviter le plus possible que le carburant se dépose sur les parois.
Illustré en détail, un guide (15) oriente le carburant injecté par l'injecteur (7) de telle sorte qu'une partie de l'air sous pression (19) entraîne ce carburant mais sans toucher les parois de la chambre de combustion tout en formant le mélange air/carburant. Une autre partie de l'air sous pression (18) passe autour du guide (15) de telle sorte qu'il contribue aussi à séparer ledit mélange de la paroi (16) de la chambre de combustion. Des formes plus élaborées comme celles de (49) sont plus efficaces.
A-t-on besoin d'un piston, avec tous les frottements et les pertes de rendement par les soupapes, pour comprimer le mélange air/carburant ?
Quelques perfectionnements:

Dans une variante, la préchambre (44) a un volume plus important que dans les autres versions grâce à sa longueur plus importante et/ou grâce à une plus grande section, de sa cavité intérieure, du côté de l'entrée d'air venant du compresseur que du côté de la sortie d'air en contact avec la vanne (4).
Cette particularité permet de comprimer un grand volume d'air dans la préchambre pendant que la vanne (4) est fermée et d'injecter l'air dans la chambre de combustion à une pression qui reste importante malgré la brusque augmentation du volume à remplir dans la chambre de combustion lorsque la vanne (4) s'ouvre.
Le compresseur (45) a les caractéristiques adaptées à cet usage.
Dans une autre variante, le dispositif comporte un conduit (26) qui permet l'arrivée du carburant, dans la préchambre (3), à au moins un injecteur (24), ouvert au moment voulu géré par le calculateur, carburant qui formera une partie du mélange air/carburant et qui sera brûlé dans la chambre de combustion.
Un guide (25) oriente le carburant injecté par l'injecteur (24) de telle sorte qu'une partie de l'air (2) introduit dans la préchambre (3) entraîne ce carburant mais sans toucher, ou le moins possible, la paroi de la vanne (4), ouverte dans cette phase, ni la paroi de la chambre de combustion (16).

Dans une variante du dispositif, au moins un des éléments tels que (32) du moyen d'allumage est un moyen utilisant un rayon laser.
Dans la chambre de combustion (6), sans piston, sans obstacle, le rayon d'action de chaque laser est prédéterminé pour un résultat optimum ; ainsi le laser facultatif (32) disposé sensiblement dans l'axe de la chambre de combustion dispose soit d'un rayon court pour allumer le mélange air/carburant dans une des possibilités de phases multiples de l'allumage, soit d'un rayon long pour allumer le mélange vers l'axe de la chambre de combustion ce qui comprime le mélange entre la zone de combustion qui commence et la paroi de la chambre de combustion, soit pour une combustion qui continue ainsi, soit par au moins un autre allumage complémentaire par laser (9), le tout étant ici aussi géré par le calculateur.
Les lasers permettent un allumage plus ciblé dans l'espace et dans le temps que des bougies classiques.
Une injection d'eau ou de vapeur d'eau dans la préchambre (44) grâce à une arrivée de ce fluide par un conduit (42) qui alimente un moyen de dispersion (43) permet une meilleure combustion, une baisse de la consommation de carburant et une diminution de la quantité de polluants rejetés, une diminution des rejets de NOx. Habilement gérée, la condensation de cette vapeur améliore l'efficacité de la turbine.
L'injection d'eau ou de vapeur, peut être pratiquée dans la chambre de combustion.
Au moins une partie de cette eau ou de cette vapeur d'eau injectée dans la préchambre et/ou dans la chambre de combustion provient du refroidissement (17) de la paroi (16) de la chambre de combustion qui chauffe directement ou indirectement cette eau qui peut être transformée en vapeur.



Dans une autre forme de réalisation, le dispositif est identique à celui de la première version à deux différences près, d'une part, la présence d'une seconde vanne (20) qui permet d'ouvrir et de fermer le passage des fluides, ceux qui sortent de la chambre de combustion, dont l'actionnement est lié à celui de la vanne (4), représenté ici mécaniquement par (21), la synchronisation des deux vannes pouvant être électrique et gérée par le calculateur, d'autre part, la forme des ouvertures pour le passage des fluides (22) et (23). La présence de la seconde vanne (20) permet une première compression plus importante du mélange air/carburant dans la chambre de combustion, avant qu'il soit enflammé. Les différents éléments qui composent le dispositif sont illustrés sans les représenter spécifiquement dans une phase de fonctionnement.
Les ouvertures pour les passages des fluides (22) et (23) sont de forme adaptée pour laisser passer le plus facilement possible les fluides qui les traversent tout en ayant des formes permettant la synchronisation des actions dans un cycle.
Ainsi les deux vannes sont fermées lors de l'allumage et de la combustion du mélange air/carburant et l'ouverture du passage (23) de la vanne (20) est lié à l'ouverture du passage (22) de la vanne (4) pour l'arrivée de l'air venant de la préchambre avec ou non un décalage dans le temps.

Quelques réflexions:
- Les normes sont de plus en plus restrictives en matière de pollution automobile.
- Ces contraintes aboutissent à produire des moteurs à quatre temps de plus en plus complexes et chers à l'achat et à l'entretien.
- Dans ce nouveau moteur, plusieurs carburant peuvent être utilisés, comme l'essence, le gazole, les alcools, les gaz combustibles. On peut même utiliser deux carburants l'un après l'autre ou simultanément pour modifier le résultat de la combustion.
- On peut utiliser des lasers avec de longs rayons pour enflammer le mélange dans des conditions multiples qu'on peut choisir.
- Ce moteur fonctionne à vitesse pratiquement constante, en consommant et en polluant le moins et permet d'alimenter un véhicule électrique soit en tant que moyen de secours occasionnel et donc de prolongateur d'autonomie soit en tant que fournisseur continu d'électricité.
- Concernant les deux exemples de voitures à traction électrique, sachant qu'une voiture électrique consomme de 15 à 25 kWh aux 100 km selon son poids et son aérodynamisme, la puissance des moteurs proposée permet des reprises et des accélérations convenables même si la plupart du temps c'est un faible pourcentage de leur puissance nominale qui est utilisé. permettant alors à la batterie de se recharger en roulant,
- Cette invention ne se limite pas aux applications automobiles, elle permet aussi de produire de l'électricité pour alimenter les réseaux électriques.
Le moteur présenté dans le cadre de cette invention n'est pas encore commercialisé.

LIEN: Pour se faire une idée précise de " l'interaction entre la combustion et le dépôt de carburant sur les parois des moteurs thermiques " concernant le niveau des pollutions et leurs causes:
" Étude expérimentale du comportement et de l'évaporation d'un film liquide combustible en présence d'une flamme "
présentée par Nicolas BORGETTO
devant l'Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon (INSA)

D'autres informations: le texte du brevet
        contact